Waiting

This week, so far, I’ve been waiting to hear back about a PhD application. I was told I’d probably hear by… yesterday. I know it’s pointless, but I keep thinking that the more time goes by from that point, the less likely it is that it’s me they’ve said yes to. Which is disappointing, but I can deal with that. I’m just not very patient, and I hate not knowing.

In the meantime, I’m trying to get myself back on track for the new semester which starts next week. Mondays are 9-5 and then we have Professional Skills workshops on Tuesdays (the only reason I started this blog, although I have not kept to the guidelines one bit). The rest is up to me.

I don’t want a repeat of the last two weeks. It was intensely stressful and I knew I could have produced better pieces of work. However, the whole PhD application thing was unexpected and uncertain. Difficult to plan for. Which meant other things (i.e. assessments!) got pushed to one side. I wrote a very poor essay in 24 hours. On the other hand, my exam went better than expected! Not all doom and gloom, ha. So, yeah, the aim is to read up, excruciating detailed plans, and kill any lesser priorities (basically, everything else). If anyone has any tips about time management, when you feel like you’ve literally tried everything? That would be grand.

Leave a Reply

